1019 Bryan RoaddividerO'Fallon, MO 63366dividerPhone:  636-240-3200
Hours:  8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday – Friday

 
DARE
English English
Explore
O'Fallon

O'Fallon Justice Center
1019 Bryan Road
O'Fallon, MO 63366
Phone:  636-240-3200
Hours:  Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

The O'Fallon D.A.R.E. program was started by Officer Ray "Tiny" Sanders in 1991 with instruction to fifth grade students. Officer Sanders was the first D.A.R.E. officer in St. Charles County.

D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education), is a collaborative effort between law enforcement, schools, parents and community leaders. Its strength lies in the fact that it helps children learn and practice new skills that are supported by all facets of their community. The curricula are science- and research-based and span K-12 grades with emphasis and reinforcement at vital transition years. As a result of a major national research study, D.A.R.E. demonstrates the latest in prevention science and teaching techniques.

Current K-12 lessons focus on:

  • Decision-making skills
  • Understanding of risks
  • Accurate normative awareness
  • Understanding of how substances
  • Affect the brain and body
  • Communication skills
  • Refusal skills
  • High self-efficacy
  • Media literacy

The D.A.R.E. sequential curricula is comprised of the following:

  • K through Grade 4 curriculum
  • Elementary school – Grade 5 curriculum

The core curriculum is designed for those students moving on to middle school the next school year, typically the 5th grade. By focusing on a transition year, officers are able to provide the knowledge and skills to enable these young people to resist the temptation to use drugs or react violently to problems. A kindergarten through 4th grade curriculum is also provided that focuses mainly on personal safety.

The O'Fallon Police Department has four D.A.R.E. Officer/School Resource Officers assigned to 12 elementary schools.

The schools served by the O’Fallon Police Department D.A.R.E. Program and the officers assigned to each are listed below. Feel free to contact them with any questions.


Supervisors

Lieutenant Steve Landsness slandsness@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5688
Sgt. Kris Wright kwright@ofallon.mo.us 636-980-5936

High School Resource Officers

Fort Zumwalt North – Officer Jake Knopfel jknopfel@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5421
Fort Zumwalt West – Officer Tim Bateman tbateman@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5798
St. Dominic/Hope/O'Fallon Christian – Officer Dave Pollard dpollard@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5777

Middle School Resource Officers

Fort Zumwalt North and South – Officer Bob Schoonover bschoonover@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5833
Fort Zumwalt West and Frontier – Officer Patrick Budds pbudds@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5709

Grade School DARE

North: Rock Creek, Forest Park/JL Mudd, Westhoff, Mount Hope, Progress South, Assumption  
South: Pheasant Point, Emge, Dardenne, Twin Chimneys, Crossroads, Discovery Ridge – Officer Jill Bloomfield dgoewert@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5745

Other resources