Chief of Police

Roy Joachimstaler retired from the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department, where he achieved the rank of Lt. Colonel, after serving for 39 years, most recently as the leader of the Bureau of Community Policing, where he led the uniform patrol force and detectives assigned to all of the Patrol Divisions throughout the City. 

He began his career in 1969 as a Police Cadet and worked his way through the ranks serving as a uniformed police officer in the 5th and 6th Districts, the Mobile Reserve Section, and as a detective assigned to the Vice-Narcotics Division. He was promoted to Lieutenant in 1987 and served as a Watch Commander in the 5th and 6th Districts and headed up a “Foot-Beat Program” which was a precursor for community policing in St. Louis at that time.
Joachimstaler later became the Commander of the Vice-Narcotics Division responsible for the enforcement of all vice and narcotics laws within the City of St. Louis and in 1994, he was appointed Special Assistant to the Chief of Police, in charge of the police department’s community oriented problem-solving (C.O.P.S.) initiative.
In 1996, he assumed command of the South Patrol Division, in charge of the entire uniform patrol force and detectives for the southern half of the City of St. Louis. He later commanded the Bureau of Patrol Support, which is made up of the Mobile Reserve Unit, Canine, Traffic Safety, Mounted Patrol, Hostage Response Unit, Public Transportation, and the Operational Planning unit for the entire police department.  
In 2003, he was promoted to Deputy Chief and again took over command of the Bureau of Patrol Support before becoming Chief of Detectives in charge of the Bureau of Criminal Investigations in 2007. In 2008, he was named to lead the Bureau of Community Policing.
Roy Joachimstaler has a Master’s Degree in Management from Lindenwood University and attended the Dignitary Protection School of the United States Secret Service.  He is a graduate of the Senior Management Institute for Police sponsored by the Police Executive Research Forum (P.E.R.F.), in Washington D.C. Joachimstaler has received numerous police department and community awards for his work, including three Resolutions from the Board of Aldermen and two Proclamations from different Mayors of the City of St. Louis.

Timeline of Law Enforcement Officials

1856 - O’Fallon’s founding resident, business owner, postmaster and railroad agent Nicholas Krekel was probably the first file for the office of county sheriff, as well. As far as we know, he didn’t win.

1856 - 1959 - As in other townships, everyday peacekeeping fell to appointed town constables and marshals. Glennon Obrecht, William “Bill” Steiner, Sr., and Clinton “Bud” Prinster served as City Marshals.

1959 - O’Fallon’s police force turned professional with the hiring of Police Chief Rich Wilson.

Early 1960s - Russ Carter, a local shoe repairman, became the first elected rather than appointed City marshal.

Early 1970s - Bud Stevens is elected City marshal.

1975 - 1981 - Roy Thomas is elected Chief of Police.

1977 - 1980 - Tom Anderson serves as Police Administrator for approximately eight months, followed by Mike Bragg.

1981 - 1991 - Dan Granger was named the City’s first full-time Chief of Police

1985 - O’Fallon’s Safety Town program officially begins with a two-week, 25-hour safety course designed to promote basic safety skills for young children at home, school or play.

1991 - 1995 - Mike Kernan serves as Chief of Police

1995 - 2005 - Steve Talbott serves as Chief of Police

2005 - 2009 - Jerry Schulte serves as Chief of Police

2009 - William Seibert serves as Interim Chief of Police

December 1, 2009 - Roy Joachimstaler is named Chief of Police